All-FCIAC honors for Ridgefield athletes

A total of 38 Ridgefield High School athletes — and two head coaches — have earned All-Fairfield County Interscholastic Athletic Conference honors for the recently completed 2017-18 winter sports season.

Among the honorees were three players from the Ridgefield boys hockey team, which won its second straight conference championship. Senior defenseman Liam Galloway was named to the All-FCIAC first team, while junior forward Nick Cullinan made the second team and junior forward Will Forrest received honorable mention.

In addition, Ridgefield head coach Shaun Gallagher was chosen as the FCIAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Three members of the Ridgefield/Danbury girls hockey team were honored. Sophomore forward Zella Ertl, freshman forward Emily Stefanelli, and sophomore goalie Kendal Mountain all were selected to the All-FCIAC second team.

Lauren Lubrano, the Tigers’ head coach, was named the FCIAC Coach of the Year in girls hockey.

Senior Brenden McNamara was selected to the All-FCIAC boys basketball team. McNamara, a 6’5” forward, averaged 19.2 points and 10 rebounds a game for the Tigers, who finished with a 16-6 record and won their first-ever FCIAC regular-season title.

Teammate James St. Pierre made the second team. The junior shooting guard averaged more than 15 points and five rebounds per game while hitting 54 three-pointers.

For the second straight season, Caroline Curnal received All-FCIAC first-team honors in girls basketball. Curnal, a senior forward, averaged a double-double in points and rebounds. Sophomore guard Kate Wagner was chosen to the third team, and sophomore guard Megan Klosowski earned honorable mention.

Senior Simon Preston, who won the conference title at 160 pounds, was automatically named to the All-FCIAC wrestling first team. Classmate Peter Murray made the second team, with fellow senior Jesse Walker and junior Ben Smart receiving honorable mention.

Five members of the Ridgefield boys swim team earned all-conference honors. Senior Kieran Smith, senior Will Bornstein, junior Will Bryant, sophomore Luke Hruska, and freshman Connor Hunt all made the All-FCIAC first team. Smith and Bornstein each won two individual events at the conference championship meet and Bryant won one event. All five Tigers were on relay teams that finished first.

Senior Anna Landler, freshman Grace Michalowski, junior Gabriella Viggiano, and sophomore Emma Langis made the All-FCIAC girls indoor track team. The four combined to win the 4x800 relay.

In boys indoor track, seniors Justin Showstead, Thomas Vilinskis, Mitchell van der Noll, Francisco Turdera, and Kevin Arnold, and juniors Ian Dyson, James Kane and Simon Jupp all received honors. Showstead won the shot put, while Dyson, van der Noll, Kane, and Turdera triumphed in the 4x200 relay.