All-FCIAC honors for Ridgefield athletes

Fifty-five Ridgefield High School athletes have received All-Fairfield County Interscholastic Athletic Conference honors for the recently completed 2018 spring sports season.

Eleven of those honorees came from the RHS boys lacrosse team, which won the Class L state championship. Greg Gatto, Weston Carpenter, and Noah Isaacson were selected to the All-FCIAC first team. Reid Kagan, Dawson Muller, and Michael Dobson made the second team; Ray Dearth and Luke Gaydos were named to the All-West squad; and Dan Parson, Jack Dowd, and Chris D’Entrone received honorable mention.

Three other Ridgefield teams that reached the state finals (girls lacrosse, baseball, and boys volleyball) also had multiple players honored.

In girls lacrosse, Caroline Curnal was selected to the All-FCIAC first team. Caitlin Slaminko, Maeve Tobin, Erika Linke, and Aly Gagnon all made the second team, with Mae Briody and Katie Hoban earning honorable mention.

Senior pitcher Alex Price was named to the All-FCIAC baseball first team. Jake Artzt, Pete Columbia, Matt Stamatis, and Nick Hanna were chosen to All-East squad, with Ben Cohen, Quinn McDonald, and Matt DeLuca receiving honorable mention.

Christian DeVivo and Andrew Knachel were selected to the All-FCIAC first team in boys volleyball. Chris Knachel made the second team, and Thomas Groves received honorable mention.

Sabrina Grizzaffi was the lone RHS softball player to receive All-FCIAC honors, as she was chosen to the second team.

Singles players Luke Queiroz and Brian Song and doubles players Tanner Daubenspeck and Noah Butler were chosen to the All-FCIAC boys tennis first team. Singles player James Hourihan received honorable mention.

Ridgefield doubles players Jillian O’Keefe and Hilary Sherpa made the All-FCIAC girls tennis first team. Singles player Aurora Joblon and doubles players Jen Gordon and Julia Driscoll were named to the All-East team, and singles player Morgan Held received honorable mention.

In boys outdoor track and field, Simon Jupp, Aidan Williams, Kevin Arnold, Mathew Szpakowski, and Justin Showstead all made the All-FCIAC team.

Gabriella Viggiano, Emma Langis, Carolyn Donovan, Anna Landler, and Grace Michalowski earned spots on the All-FCIAC girls outdoor track and field team.

Alyssa Maiolo earned a berth on the All-FCIAC girls golf first team. Caroline Bunt was named to the All-West squad, and Christina Kudera received honorable mention.

Notes: Ridgefield did not have any representatives on the All-FCIAC boys golf teams.

The All-FCIAC boys and girls track teams were selected based on results at the conference championship meets.