Merrill, Lembo earn re-election bids

Democrats have won four of Connecticut’s constitutional offices. 

Democrat William Tong defeated  Republican Susan Hatfield earlier Wednesday, completing the sweep. 

Incumbent Secretary of the State Denise Merrill turned back the challenge of Republican Susan Chapman, 798,237 votes to 573,047.

Comptroller Kevin Lembo won another term, the Democratic incumbent finishing with 692,177 votes, more than 100,000 above Republican Kurt Miller (590,263).

Democrats held onto the state treasurer’s office, being vacated by Denise Nappier. Democratic candidate Shawn Wooden finished with 713,011 votes, while Republican Thad Gray earned 593,338.

"Democrats extend humble and grateful thanks to all who delivered a near Democratic sweep in Ridgefield for the second consecutive year," said Ridgefield Democratic Town Chairman Alex Harris Wednesday, Nov. 7. "U.S. Sen. Chris Murphy, Gov.-elect Ned Lamont, Lt. Gov.-elect Susan Bysiewicz, Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, Attorney General-elect William Tong, Treasurer-elect Shawn Wooden, and Comptroller Kevin Lembo all won in Ridgefield, en route to their statewide victories."

All results were as of 6 a.m. Wednesday, with 91% of precincts reporting.