Freshman comes up with pin in final match, secures tie between East Harford, Danbury for Class LL wrestling title

TRUMBULL — There has never been a more closely contested Class LL wrestling State Championship than that of 2022.

Danbury led until the final bout, when East Hartford freshman 160-pound finalist Drayvn Roberts took to the mat.

Thanks to a pin by East Hartford’s Cooper Lavigne minutes earlier to claim fouth place in the 152-pound bracket, East Hartford needed Roberts to pin Ridgefield’s Andrey Kosygin to tie Danbury at 232 points.

“My team needed a pin to tie it up, so going into the match I was just thinking win and pin,” Roberts said. “That was some serious pressure, and I am just glad and blessed to be honest.”

Two minutes and 21 seconds into the last finals match, Roberts got his pin and East Hartford and Danbury were declared Class LL co-champions.

“It feels great, Danbury has been running LL’s for 35 years,” Roberts said. “Growing up I would watch my brothers wrestle and Danbury would always win. I would always think ‘they are not winning when I get to high school.’”

While Roberts and East Hartford got their win, for the sixth consecutive Class LL tournament Danbury did as well.

“East Hartford is a real good team. We hadn’t seen them all year,” Danbury coach Ricky Shook said. “We got the shared title and we wrestled well, I have to say. Next weekend at the Open should be interesting.”

For the East Hartford program, this is its first state wrestling title.

“These guys battled the whole season. We are a young team and three quarters of our team had never wrestled in high school,” East Hartford coach Todd Albert said. “They didn’t know what this would be like, but they had the mindset to be able to wrestle back. We had a rough go for a little while, but we battled back, and I couldn’t be prouder.”

Danbury ended with four first-place finishers in Kai O’Dell (138), Logan Kovacs (145), Dominic Iaquinto (182), and Nuh Ajdinoski (285), while East Hartford had two individual title winners in Isaac Quiles (106) and Roberts (160).

For Danbury, Kovacs played the hero for the second tournament in a row. After winning the deciding match to claim the FCIAC team title, he was the final Danbury competitor again on Saturday, with his pin clinching another title.

“I knew going into it that this would be a close team race, so I had to do everything I could to help get the win,” Kovacs said. “I knew it was close so now this is two weeks in a row it has all come down to me for us. It is crazy because it is random the way they pick the order.”

O’Dell and Fairfield Warde’s Will Ebert were the only competitors to repeat as Class LL individual champions. Ebert was named the most outstanding wrestler of the tournament as the champion at 170 pounds.

“It feels great, there was not a lot of pressure honestly,” O’Dell said. “I just wanted to show off all the hard work I have put in. We really just found a way today, which was awesome and we really come out when it matters in the postseason.”

Iaquinto and Ajdinoski were unexpected winners for the Hatters, with Ajdinoski entering as the eighth seed and Iaquinto as the fifth in their respective weight classes.

“Coming in I knew I didn’t have anything to lose as the five seed,” said. “I didn’t care about the win or the loss, I cared about the effort I gave. I knew that I could beat these kids, and it feels great to be a state champion. There is more to come, this is only the beginning.”

Fairfield Warde finished third with 204 points, while Ridgefield (146.5) and Southington (144.5) rounded out the top five.



106 LBS

1st Isaac Quiles (East Hartford) DEC Deydon Soto (Danbury), 9-3

3rd Owen Sheiman (Fairfield Warde) DEC Ryan Ouelette (Glastonbury), 7-2

5th Armen Arakelian (Conard) F Chase Watkins (Staples), 2:53

113 LBS

1st Dominic Barrella (Ridgefield) DEC Dominick Spadaro (Fairfield Warde), 10-3

3rd Alvin Moody (Manchester) F Stephen Numme (Greenwich), 3:24

5th Jared Mangiafico (Southington) F Calli Gilchrist (Brien McMahon), 1:36

120 LBS

1st Ben Zuckerman (Fairfield Warde) DEC Alex Blaha (Ridgefield), 1-0

3rd John Schneider (Brien McMahon) DEC Jaiden James (Norwich Free Academy), 8-7

5th Phoenix Gardella (Norwalk) DEC Damion Jaggon (East Hartford), 7-0

126 LBS

1st Nathan Blaha (Ridgefield) F Josh Howard (Southington), 3:43

3rd Dylan Sherman (Fairfield Ludlowe) DEC Lincoln Carlson (East Lyme/Norwich Tech), 5-3

5th Andrew De la rosa (Glastonbury) DEC Robert Mcnally (Enfield), 6-4

132 LBS

1st Benjamin Gorr (Southington) DEC Nick Fatone (Norwalk), 6-1

3rd Jesse Defonce (Danbury) DEC William Smith (Fairfield Prep), 5-2

5th Jayden Burney (East Hartford) F Victor Petkov (Ridgefield), 0:56

138 LBS

1st Kai O'dell (Danbury) F Colton Thorpe (Southington), 4:58

3rd Jaeckez Mendez (East Hartford) DEC Connor Devega (Norwich Free Academy), 4-2

5th Andrew Grabinski (Trumbull) DEC Jack Cahill (Norwalk), 7-1

145 LBS

1st Logan Kovacs (Danbury) MD Joseph Cardozo (Fairfield Prep), 8-0

3rd Jeremy Brault (Fairfield Warde) DEC Thomas Brunelli (Norwich Free Academy), 3-2

5th Yaxier Rivera (East Hartford) M FOR Zavier Hernandez (Brien McMahon)

152 LBS

1st Lucas Coleman (Fairfield Warde) DEC Lucas Ferreira (Ridgefield), 7-5

3rd Liam Byrne (Danbury) M FOR Alex Cardozo (Fairfield Prep)

5th Cooper Lavigne (East Hartford) F Hayden Provencal (Trumbull), 4:11

160 LBS

1st Drayvn Roberts (East Hartford) F Andrey Kosygin (Ridgefield), 2:21

3rd Jake Long (Hall) MD Warren Little (Trumbull), 10-2

5th Noah Fraas (Staples) DEC Will Mears (Fairfield Ludlowe), 5-3

170 LBS

1st William Ebert (Fairfield Warde) F Xavier Quiles (East Hartford), 1:19

3rd Robert Clarke (Manchester) DEC Hugh Baldwin (Conard), 5-2

5th Ben Vansteen (Brien McMahon) F Alton Lee (Hall), 1:49

182 LBS

1st Dominic Iaquinto (Danbury) DEC Connor Smith (Fairfield Prep), 7-4

3rd Ryan Gilchrist (Norwalk) DEC Louis Ceci (Greenwich), 7-5 SV

5th Sammy Montovani (East Hartford) F Corbin Milne (Trumbull), 1:36

195 LBS

1st Brendan Gilchrist (Norwalk) F Aethan Munden (Trumbull), 2:21

3rd Jackson Oliver (Staples) DEC Devon Durant (East Hartford), 6-4 SV

5th Mark Wrobel (Fairfield Ludlowe) DEC Daniel Craig (Danbury), 6-5 SV

220 LBS

1st Lukas Cylwik (Trumbull) DEC Nehemias Pettway (Fairfield Warde), 4-2 TB2

3rd Nicholas Augeri (Staples) DEC Jhonnyel Ramirez (Danbury), 4-1

5th Adrian Martin-davis (East Hartford) F Anthony Berruecos (New Haven), 3:43

285 LBS

1st Nuh Ajdinoski (Danbury) F Joseph Mazzarella (Southington), 4:27

3rd Michael Warner (East Hartford) DEC Marquise Eason (New Britain), 3-1

5th Malachi Mercer-robinson (Fairfield Prep) M FOR Noah Santiago (East Lyme/Norwich Tech)